Loading Programs

Upcoming Programs

Monday Book Discussion Group Reads “My Dear Hamilton: A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton”

February 14 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Join us for our discussion of this historical novel.  Copies are available at our circulation desk and the ebook is available on Hoopla.

Wife, Widow, and Warrior in Alexander Hamilton’s quest for a more perfect union

From the New York Times bestselling authors of America’s First Daughter comes the epic story of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton’a revolutionary woman who, like her new nation, struggled to define herself in the wake of war, betrayal, and tragedy. Perfect for fans of Ron Chernow’s biography Alexander Hamilton and fans of Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Hamilton: the Musical.

In this haunting, moving, and beautifully written novel, Dray and Kamoie used thousands of letters and original sources to tell Eliza’s story as it’s never been told before, not just as the wronged wife at the center of a political sex scandal, but also as a founding mother who shaped an American legacy in her own right.

A general’s daughter’

Coming of age on the perilous frontier of revolutionary New York, Elizabeth Schuyler champions the fight for independence. And when she meets Alexander Hamilton, Washington’s penniless but passionate aide-de-camp, she’s captivated by the young officer’s charisma and brilliance. They fall in love, despite Hamilton’s bastard birth and the uncertainties of war.

A founding father’s wife…

But the union they created in their marriage and the new nation is far from perfect. From glittering inaugural balls to bloody street riots, the Hamiltons are at the center of it all including the political treachery of America’s first sex scandal, which forces Eliza to struggle through heartbreak and betrayal to find forgiveness.

The last surviving light of the Revolution’

When a duel destroys Eliza’s hard-won peace, the grieving widow fights her husband’s enemies to preserve Alexander’s legacy. But long-buried secrets threaten everything Eliza believes about her marriage and her own legacy. Questioning her tireless devotion to the man and country that have broken her heart, she’s left with one last battle to understand the flawed man she married and imperfect union he could never have created without her.

 

All adults are welcome to join our book discussions.  We will be meeting on Zoom until it is safer to meet in person again.  If you are not a member, please email for the Zoom link for the discussion,  bvanness@libraryconnection.info.

Details

Date:
February 14
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Inclement weather policy: If Canton schools or afterschool activities are cancelled for weather-related reasons, so too are events for teens and children at the Canton Public Library. The library is often still open, please contact us with questions or concerns at 860.693.5800.

Canton Public Library • 40 Dyer Avenue • Canton, CT 06019 • 860-693-5800 • Fax 860-693-5804